Publishing the Schedule

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

When you’re done making the schedule, you need to let your employees know. Publishing the schedule alerts your employees that they have new shifts, and allows them to see the shifts in the When I Work app.

You can also publish the schedule from your iPhone/iPad or Android phone.

Publishing the schedule for a day, week, or month

The Publish & Notify button near the top-left corner of the Scheduler allows you to publish the schedule for the day, week, or month that you’re currently viewing.

Scheduler Publish & Notify button with arrow

When you’re finished making the schedule, click Publish & Notify to let your employees know about their shifts. Employees with new or updated shifts are immediately notified (based on their alert preferences).

If you publish the schedule and then make unpublished changes (like adding shifts without publishing them or unpublishing shifts), the Publish & Notify button turns orange. The orange button is a visual reminder that the schedule contains unpublished changes.

Advanced publishing

Use the advanced publishing options if you want to:

  • Publish only OpenShifts
  • Publish shifts for specific employees
  • Publish shifts for specific positions
  • Publish shifts in a specific date range
  • Control who gets notified
  • Unpublish shifts

To access the advanced publishing options, click Down icon on the Publish & Notify button.Advanced Publish & Notify widget

Callouta
NameRecipients
Description(Optional) Allows you to selectively publish/notify shifts by tagging OpenShifts, employees, or positions.
Calloutb
NameDate Range
DescriptionDetermines the time period for which shifts will be published or unpublished.
Calloutc
NameNotify users with changes
DescriptionNotifies users that have new or updated shifts during the selected time period.
Calloutd
NameNotify all users
DescriptionNotifies all users with shifts during the selected date range regardless of whether their shifts are new or updated.
Users with shifts that are not new or updated are sent email alerts but not mobile alerts.
Calloute
NameMessage
Description(Optional) Enter a custom message to include with the email notifications.
Appears only if you select one of the notification options.
Calloutf
NamePublish Shifts
DescriptionPublishes the shifts targeted by your selections in the Recipients and Date Range fields.
Calloutg
NameUnpublish Shifts
DescriptionUnpublishes the shifts targeted by your selections in the Recipients and Date Range fields.
Users are not notified when their shifts are unpublished.
Callout Name Description
a Recipients (Optional) Allows you to selectively publish/notify shifts by tagging OpenShifts, employees, or positions.
b Date Range Determines the time period for which shifts will be published or unpublished.
c Notify users with changes Notifies users that have new or updated shifts during the selected time period.
d Notify all users Notifies all users with shifts during the selected date range regardless of whether their shifts are new or updated.
Users with shifts that are not new or updated are sent email alerts but not mobile alerts.
e Message (Optional) Enter a custom message to include with the email notifications.
Appears only if you select one of the notification options.
f Publish Shifts Publishes the shifts targeted by your selections in the Recipients and Date Range fields.
g Unpublish Shifts Unpublishes the shifts targeted by your selections in the Recipients and Date Range fields.
Users are not notified when their shifts are unpublished.

When are employees notified?

To make sure your employees are aware of their shifts, When I Work notifies your employees when:

  • You publish shifts that are assigned to them.
  • You save changes to a shift that is already published.
  • You publish OpenShifts that they’re qualified to take.
  • You offer OpenShifts to them.
Note

Employees have the ability to change their personal notification preferences to opt out of schedule update notifications.

Resending notifications

You can resend the schedule after it’s published to all or individual employees.

  1. Click Down icon on the Publish & Notify button.
  2. In the Recipients field, select the users you want to notify.
  3. Click Re-Send Notifications.
Updated on September 18, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket