Minimizing Publish Notifications

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

If you want to avoid sending your employees too many notifications when you’re building the schedule, don’t publish shifts one at a time. Instead, publish the schedule for longer time periods and we’ll do our best to minimize notifications.

When are employees notified?

To make sure your employees are aware of their shifts, When I Work notifies your employees when:

  • You publish shifts that are assigned to them.
  • You save changes to a shift that is already published.
  • You publish OpenShifts that they’re qualified to take.
  • You offer OpenShifts to them.
Note

Employees have the ability to change their personal notification preferences to opt out of schedule update notifications.

How can I reduce publish notifications?

When I Work automatically batches notifications when you publish many shifts at once. That means your employees receive one notification when you publish the schedule for a day, week, or month all at once.

Avoid publishing shifts one at a time as you create them.

  • When you add a shift based on a shift template, it automatically appears on the schedule in an unpublished state.
  • When you add a custom shift, click Create to add it to the schedule without publishing it.Assign Shift with arrow to Create button

When you’re finished building the schedule for a day, week, or month, publish the entire schedule.

Updated on September 18, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket