Creating and Managing Schedules

From your

Applies to ,

Overview

You might want to set up multiple schedules if your business operates out of different physical locations/regions or you want to build separate schedules for different teams/departments.

Creating schedules

  1. Hover over Workplace, then select Schedules Schedules.

  2. Click Add Schedule.
  3. Add a Name for the schedule.
  4. Configure the remaining schedule settings as necessary:Add schedule screen with callouts
    1. To add a guideline for the maximum scheduled hours at this schedule per week, enter the number of hours in Max Hours / Week.
      This value is intended for comparison purposes–When I Work doesn’t prevent you from scheduling more hours.
    2. Enter the schedule’s Address or Custom Coordinates. See Adding Latitude/Longitude for Geolocation for more information on how to enter custom coordinates. Once entered, make sure the map visualization displays the correct location.
    3. If you’re using Time Clock & Attendance and you want to allow employees to clock in from their work computers, set the IP Address. See our article on clocking in from a work computer for more information.
  5. Click Add Schedule.

Associating employees with schedules

Once you have created all of your schedules, the next step is to tag your employees to their appropriate schedules.

  1. Hover over Workplace, then select Employees Employees.

  2. Click on an employee’s profile.
  3. Click Schedules on the left side of Edit Employee window.Edit employee's tagged schedules
  4. Use the Schedules menu to assign the employee to schedules.
  5. Click Save Employee when you’re finished.

If you want to tag multiple employees to schedules at once, check out Tagging Employees to Multiple Positions/Locations.

Switching between schedules in the Scheduler

When you’re using the Scheduler, switch between schedules using the schedule menu on the left side of the page.

Schedule drop down

Deleting a schedule

Deleting a schedule removes its past shifts, future shifts, shift templates, and job sites.

Caution

Deleting a schedule cannot be undone.

  1. Hover over Workplace, then select Schedules Schedules.

  2. Click the schedule that you want to delete.
  3. In the Edit Schedule popup, click Delete Schedule.Delete schedule callout
  4. Click Delete Schedule to confirm.Delete Schedule confirmation
Updated on September 5, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket