Creating and Managing Schedules

From your

Applies to ,

Overview

Schedules allow you to group employees together when you’re scheduling shifts. A schedule might represent a physical place of business, a department, a geographical region, or a group of employees you want to schedule independently within When I Work.

You can also create and manage schedules from your computer or Android phone.

Things to know before you begin

  • You must have manager or account holder access privileges to create and manage schedules.
  • Deleting a schedule removes all shifts, shift templates, and job sites associated with the schedule. We recommend exporting shifts before deleting a schedule.
  • Deleting a schedule cannot be undone.

Create a schedule

  1. From the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, tap More More icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  2. Scroll down and tap Schedules.
  3. Tap Plus button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. Set up the schedule details:
    • Name: (Required) Enter a name for the schedule.
    • Address: (Optional) Enter an address for the schedule’s location.
    • Max Hours/Week: (Optional) Set the max number of hours that can be scheduled per week.
    • Employees Assigned to this Schedule: (Required) Employees show up on a schedule if they’ve been assigned to it. Tap Tag Employees at the bottom of the screen, then tap employees’ names to add them to the schedule.
  5. Tap Save in the top-right corner of the screen when you’re finished.

Edit a schedule

  1. From the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, tap More More icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  2. Scroll down and tap Schedules.
  3. Tap the schedule you want to edit.
  4. Tap Edit in the top-right corner of the screen.
    Schedule details
  5. Make changes to the schedule’s details.
  6. Tap Save in the top-right corner.

Delete a schedule

Before you can delete a schedule from the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, you must delete shifts, shift templates, and job sites tagged to the schedule. Alternatively, you can delete the schedule from the When I Work app.

  1. From the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, tap More More icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  2. Scroll down and tap Schedules.
  3. Tap the schedule you want to delete.
  4. In the top-right corner of the screen, tap Edit.Schedule details
  5. At the bottom of the screen, tap Delete Location.Delete schedule
  6. A confirmation appears if there are no shifts, shift templates, or job sites tagged to the schedule. Tap Delete Location to delete the schedule.
Updated on November 16, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket