Shift Acknowledgment

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Shift acknowledgement is a verification measure that helps managers and supervisors ensure that users have seen their scheduled shifts. Use shift acknowledgement to better communicate shifts with your employees and ensure accountability.

Things to know before you begin

  • When an user acknowledges a shift, it means that he or she knows about the shift. It does not necessarily mean that the user wants the shift or has accepted it.
  • By default, users are forced to acknowledge their shifts when they log into the app. You can disable this by turning off Require Shift Acknowledgement in the app settings.
  • When Require Shift Acknowledgement is turned on, users are prompted to acknowledge shifts that are scheduled within the next two weeks.
  • Users can’t acknowledge shifts in the past.
  • Shift acknowledgement is included with specific plans. To find out if your plan includes shift acknowledgement, view the Account & Billing page.

How shift acknowledgement works

The way users acknowledge their shifts depends on whether Require Shift Acknowledgement is enabled or disabled the app settings.

When Require Shift Acknowledgement is enabled (default)

By default, users are forced to acknowledge newly published shifts any time they log into their When I Work account.

If a user has future shifts that need to be acknowledged, this dialogue appears:Acknowledge shifts prompt

The dialogue only disappears once the user has acknowledged the shifts.

When Require Shift Acknowledgement is disabled

When a new schedule is created and published, users can view their schedules from their individual My Schedule page.

Shifts that are in yellow are new and not yet acknowledged. A user clicks Acknowledge Shifts to confirm that they have seen their shifts.Acknowledge shifts button

 

As soon as the shifts have been acknowledged, all of the shifts will turn white and the alert will disappear.Acknowledged shifts

 

Viewing shift acknowledgements in the scheduler

After the shifts have been acknowledged, a green badge with a check mark appears to the left of their name on the Scheduler. This indicates that they have seen and acknowledged all of their shifts for the current week.


If there is a yellow badge with three dots to the left of their names, this indicates that they have confirmed some shifts but not all.

When the badge is yellow, you can hover over the badge to see which shifts have and haven’t been acknowledged. A green check mark appears on the shifts that have been acknowledged, and a red exclamation point appears on shifts that have not.

If there is no badge next to their name, that means that none of their shifts have been acknowledged for the current week.

Updated on September 18, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket