Setting Up Shift Task Lists

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Create shift task lists to capture tasks that need to be completed during a particular shift. Shift task lists can be added on the scheduler to custom shifts and to shift templates.

Shift task lists are for duties that are to be completed by a single employee during their scheduled shift. For tasks that can be completed by any employee working, see Setting Up Team Task Lists.

Shift Tasks Beta

The Shift Tasks feature is in Beta testing and is slowly being rolled out to eligible accounts. If you would like to help us test shift tasks, please contact us to find out if your account qualifies.

Considerations

Your account must be on the Scheduling Pro plan to use Task Lists. See Switching to a Different Plan for more information on updating your plan.

Managing shift task lists

Hover over Workplace, then select Tasks Task Lists.

Adding a shift task list

Set up a new shift task list to group tasks that need to be completed during a shift.

  1. On the Tasks page, click Create List.
  2. Click Shift Tasks as the list type, then click Continue.
  3. Type a name for the task list, then press Enter or Return.
  4. Add tasks:
    1. Click Add task.
    2. Enter a description of the task.
    3. Click Add or press Enter.
    4. Click Next when complete.
  5. Schedule your list. For more information, see Scheduling Shift Tasks.
  6. When you’re finished, click Finish Setup.

Editing a shift task list

You might want to edit a task list if you need to rename it or to add/update/remove a task.

  1. From the Task Lists page, click Shift Tasks.
  2. Click Edit next to the task list.
  3. Update the task list:
    • To rename the task list, click Name.
    • To add a task to the list, click Tasks.
    • To edit a task, click the task name.
    • To delete a task, click the task, then click Delete.
  4. When you’re finished, click Save.

Deleting a shift task list

Delete a task list if you don’t plan to use it in the future and don’t need to keep information about its past use.

Deleting a list removes historical data

Deleting a task list removes it from all shifts and deletes all associated historical task completion data. If you want to keep a record of completed tasks, consider removing the list from future shifts instead of deleting it.

  1. From the Task Lists page, click Shift Tasks.
  2. Click Delete next to the task list.
  3. Click Delete List to confirm.
Updated on September 17, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket