Using WorkChat

From your

Applies to , , ,

Overview

Use WorkChat to communicate with your coworkers in real time without exchanging personal contact information. For example, you might want to start a discussion, share an image, send an announcement, or just let your coworkers know you’re running late.

WorkChat on iOS, Android, and computer

You can also use WorkChat from the iPhone/iPad app or the Android app. If you have manager or account holder access privileges, you can manage WorkChat settings for your workplace.

Conversations

A WorkChat conversation is like a virtual room; everyone in the conversation can send and receive messages. When you have unread messages, a red dot appears on the conversation and on the WorkChat icon icon at the top of the page.Conversations list

Workplace conversation

The workplace conversation includes everyone that belongs to the account. Use this conversation when you need to send a broadcast message to all of your coworkers, including management. The workplace conversation cannot be deleted.

In the conversations list, the workplace conversation shows the account logo and name set by your employer.

Workplace conversation

Group conversations

Use group conversations to chat with multiple coworkers. For example, you might create a group conversation for employees that work together on a project or work a specific position. Anyone can create a group conversation, and there is no limit on the number of participants.

In the conversations list, group conversations show the profile pictures of the first two people added to the conversation.

Group conversation

1-on-1 conversations

Start a 1-on-1 conversation when you need to chat with a specific person.

In the conversations list, 1-on-1 conversations show the profile picture of the person you’re chatting with.

One-on-one conversation

Using WorkChat to communicate

To access WorkChat, click WorkChat icon near the top of the page. The app displays your WorkChat conversations.

If you don’t see WorkChat icon, WorkChat is not available for your workplace.

Starting a conversation

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, click New WorkChat.
  2. If you want to give the conversation a custom name, click Name this chat (optional) and enter a name.New Workchat
  3. Select the people you want to include in the conversation.
    • To start a 1-on-1 conversation, select a single person.
    • To start a group conversation, select multiple people.
    • To filter the list of people by location or position, click Filter button.
    • To search for a person, click the To line and begin typing a first or last name.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Send a message to start the conversation.

Sending a message

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, click an existing conversation or create a new one.
  2. Type a message in the box, then click Send or press enter.

Your message is delivered to everyone that belongs to the conversation.

Sending a photo

All WorkChat conversations allow you to send photos. PNG, JPEG, and GIF image formats are supported.

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, click an existing conversation or create a new one.
  2. Click Add Photo.
  3. Browse to the location of the photo and select it.
    A thumbnail of the photo appears above Add Photo.
  4. If you want to send a message with the photo, type a message in the box.
  5. Click Send or press enter.

Your photo is delivered to everyone that belongs to the conversation.

Renaming a conversation

You can rename any group or 1-on-1 conversation.

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, click the conversation.
  2. In the top-right corner of the conversation, click Information icon.
  3. Click the conversation name, then enter a new name.
  4. Click Save.

Adding coworkers to a conversation

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, click the conversation.
  2. In the top-right corner of the conversation, click Information icon.
  3. Click Add Coworkers.
  4. Click each coworker that you want to add.
    To search for a person, click the To line and begin typing a first or last name.
  5. Click Done.
  6. Click Back to return to the conversation.

Leaving a conversation

If you leave a conversation, you cannot rejoin it yourself. However, you can ask someone in the conversation to add you. You cannot leave the workplace conversation.

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, click the conversation.
  2. In the top-right corner of the conversation, click Information icon.
  3. Click Leave Conversation.
  4. Click Leave to confirm.

Can’t see WorkChat?

If you don’t see WorkChat, it may be disabled. Your employer has the option to turn WorkChat on and off.

Updated on June 6, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket