Using WorkChat

From your

Applies to , , ,

Overview

Use WorkChat to communicate with your coworkers in real time without exchanging personal contact information. For example, you might want to start a discussion, share an image, send an announcement, or just let your coworkers know you’re running late.

WorkChat on iOS, Android, and computer

You can also use WorkChat from your computer or the iPhone/iPad app.

Things to do before you begin

Make sure the When I Work Scheduling app is installed on your Android phone.

Conversations

A WorkChat conversation is like a virtual room; everyone in the conversation can send and receive messages. When you have unread messages, a red dot appears on the conversation.WorkChat conversations list

Workplace conversation

The workplace conversation includes everyone that belongs to the account. Use this conversation when you need to send a broadcast message to all of your coworkers, including management. The workplace conversation cannot be deleted.

In the conversations list, the workplace conversation shows the account logo and name set by your employer.

WorkPlace conversation

Group conversations

Use group conversations to chat with multiple coworkers. For example, you might create a group conversation for employees that work together on a project or work a specific position. Anyone can create a group conversation, and there is no limit on the number of participants.

In the conversations list, group conversations show the profile pictures of the first two people added to the conversation.

Group conversation

1-on-1 conversations

Start a 1-on-1 conversation when you need to chat with a specific person.

In the conversations list, 1-on-1 conversations show the profile picture of the person you’re chatting with.

One-on-one conversation

Using WorkChat to communicate

To access WorkChat, tap Menu button in the top-left corner of the screen, then tap WorkChat icon WorkChat. The app displays your WorkChat conversations.

Starting a conversation

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, tap New conversation in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. If you want to give the conversation a custom name, tap Name this chat (optional) and enter a name.New WorkChat screen
  3. Select the people you want to include in the conversation.
    • To start a 1-on-1 conversation, select a single person.
    • To search for a person, tap the To line and begin typing a first or last name.
  4. Tap Checkmark button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  5. Send a message to start the conversation.

Sending a message

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, tap an existing conversation or create a new one.
  2. Type a message in the box, then tap Send button.Send message

Your message is delivered to everyone that belongs to the conversation. For each message, you can see when the message was sent and how many people have seen it.

Sending a photo

All WorkChat conversations allow you to send photos. PNG, JPEG, and GIF image formats are supported.

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, tap an existing conversation or create a new one.
  2. Tap Camera icon near the message box.
  3. Take a new photo or select an existing photo from the gallery.
    You may need to allow access to your camera or photo gallery.
  4. If you want to send a message with the photo, type the message in the box.Image thumbnail with message
  5. Tap Send button.

Your image is sent to everyone that belongs to the conversation.

Renaming a conversation

You can rename any group or 1-on-1 conversations that you’ve personally created.

  1. From the WorkChat conversation list, tap the conversation.
  2. In the top-right corner of the screen, tap More button and then tap Options.
  3. In the menu at the bottom of the screen, tap Rename.
  4. Enter a new name.
  5. Tap OK.

Viewing notifications

WorkChat notifications let you know that you’ve received messages. If a message arrives while you’re not viewing WorkChat, the notification appears as a banner across the top of the screen.WorkChat notification

If your device is locked, the notification appears in the Android notification area.

Note

WorkChat notifications are displayed when the app is open or running in the background. If you want to receive notifications, do not force quit the app.

Changing your notification preferences

You can configure notification preferences for WorkChat without changing your notification settings for scheduling or attendance.

  1. From the WorkChat conversations list, tap More button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap Preferences.
  3. Tap the switch next to Alerts to turn alerts on or off.WorkChat notification preferences
  4. To return to the conversations list, tap Back button or tap the back button near the bottom of your phone.

Can’t see WorkChat?

If you don’t see WorkChat in the When I Work Scheduling app:

  • WorkChat may be disabled. Your employer has the option to turn WorkChat on and off.
  • You might be using an old version of the app. Make sure you’re using the latest version.
Updated on April 13, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket