Using WorkChat

From your

Applies to , , ,

Overview

WorkChat is a secure communication tool that allows you and your staff to send messages and images in real time without exchanging personal contact information. WorkChat can be further customized to fit exactly the type of communication you’d like for your staff to have access to. For example:

  • Use in broadcast-only mode so managers can send out one-way messaging to all staff.
  • Empower employees to start and post in custom channels to communicate with one another.

You can also use WorkChat from your computer or the iPhone/iPad app. If you have manager or account holder access privileges, you can manage WorkChat settings for your workplace.

Channels

A WorkChat channel is like a virtual room; everyone in the channel can send and receive messages. When you have unread messages, a red dot appears on the channel.WorkChat conversations list

Workplace channel

The workplace channel includes everyone that belongs to the account. Use this channel when you need to send a broadcast message to all of your staff. The workplace channel is pinned to the top of all WorkChat channels and cannot be deleted. By default, only the Account Holder and Managers can post in the WorkPlace channel. Adjust your settings to allow other users to post in the channel as well.

In the channels list, the workplace channel shows the account logo and name set by your employer.

WorkPlace conversation

Group channel

If enabled on your account, you can create group channels to chat with multiple coworkers. For example, you might create a group channel for employees that work together on a project or work a specific position.

In the channels list, group channels show the profile pictures of the first two people added to the channel.

Group conversation

1-on-1 channels

Start a 1-on-1 channel when you need to chat with a specific person.

In the channels list, 1-on-1 channels show the profile picture of the person you’re chatting with.

One-on-one conversation

Using WorkChat to communicate

To access WorkChat, tap Menu button in the top-left corner of the screen, then tap WorkChat icon WorkChat. The app displays your WorkChat channels.

Starting a channel

  1. From the WorkChat channel list, tap New conversation in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. If you want to give the channel a custom name, tap Name this channel (optional) and enter a name.New channel
  3. Select the people you want to include in the channel.
    • To start a 1-on-1 channel, select a single person.
    • To start a group channel, select multiple people.
    • To filter the list of people by schedule or position, tap Filter button.
    • To search for a person, tap the To line and begin typing a first or last name.
  4. Tap Checkmark button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  5. Send a message to start the channel.

Sending a message

  1. From the WorkChat channel list, tap an existing channel or create a new one.
  2. Type a message in the box, then tap Send button.Send message

Your message is delivered to everyone that belongs to the channel. For each message, you can see when the message was sent and how many people have seen it.

Sending a photo

All WorkChat channels allow you to send photos. PNG, JPEG, and GIF image formats are supported. Images must be 8 MB or less.

  1. From the WorkChat channel list, tap an existing channel or create a new one.
  2. Tap Camera icon near the message box.
  3. Take a new photo or select an existing photo from the gallery.
    You may need to allow access to your camera or photo gallery.
  4. If you want to send a message with the photo, type the message in the box.Image thumbnail with message
  5. Tap Send button.

Your image is sent to everyone that belongs to the channel.

Renaming a channel

You can rename any group or 1-on-1 channel.

  1. From the WorkChat channel list, tap the channel.
  2. In the top-right corner of the screen, tap More button.
  3. In the menu at the bottom of the screen, tap Rename.
  4. Enter a new name.
  5. Tap OK.

Adding coworkers to a channel

  1. From the WorkChat channel list, tap the channel.
  2. In the top-right corner of the screen, tap More button.
  3. In the menu at the bottom of the screen, tap Add Coworkers.
  4. Tap each coworker that you want to add.
    To search for a person, tap the Add line and begin typing a first or last name.
  5. Tap Checkmark button in the top-right corner of the screen.

Leaving a channel

If you leave a channel, you cannot rejoin it yourself. However, you can ask someone in the channel to add you. You cannot leave the workplace channel.

  1. From the WorkChat channel list, tap the channel.
  2. In the top-right corner of the screen, tap More button.
  3. In the menu at the bottom of the screen, tap Leave Channel.
  4. Tap Leave to confirm.

Viewing notifications

WorkChat notifications let you know that you’ve received messages. If a message arrives while you’re not viewing WorkChat, the notification appears as a banner across the top of the screen.WorkChat notification

If your device is locked, the notification appears in the Android notification area.

NOTE: WorkChat notifications are only delivered if the app is open and running in the background.

Changing your notification preferences

You can configure notification preferences for WorkChat without changing your notification settings for scheduling or attendance.

  1. From the WorkChat channels list, tap More button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap Preferences.
  3. Tap the switch next to Alerts to turn alerts on or off.WorkChat notification preferences
  4. To return to the channels list, tap Back button or tap the back button near the bottom of your phone.

Can’t see WorkChat?

If you don’t see WorkChat in the When I Work Scheduling app:

  • WorkChat may be disabled. Your employer has the option to turn WorkChat on and off.
  • You might be using an old version of the app. Make sure you’re using the latest version.
Updated on July 27, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket