Setting Your Availability

From your

Applies to , , ,

Overview

Set your availability preferences to let your employer know when you prefer to work and when you prefer not to work. By default, you’re set to be available all day.

You can also set your availability preferences from your computer or Android phone.

Things to know before you begin

  • Your availability is a preference that your employer can take into account when building the schedule. There is no guarantee you’ll always get shifts that align with your preferences.
  • You can add, edit, or delete availability preferences that take place in the future but not the past.
  • Your employer has the option to disable the availability feature from App Settings. Only account holders and managers have the ability to edit App Settings.
  • Your availability preferences have icons that help you quickly identify them:
    • Preferred indicates you prefer to work.
    • Unavailable indicates you’re unavailable to work.
    • Repeating preference indicates that the preference repeats.

Adding an availability preference

  1. From the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, tap More icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap Availability.
  3. Use the calendar to select a date.Availability calendarTo switch to the next month, tap Next month or swipe from right to left.
    • To switch to the previous month, tap Previous month or swipe from left to right.
    • To return to today, tap Today in the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. In the list below the calendar, tap Plus button next to the date when the preference will begin.
  5. Tap I’m unavailable to work or I prefer to work.Set availability
  6. Set the hours for the preference.
    • If you want the preference to apply to the entire day, enable the All Day toggle.
    • If you want the preference to apply to a specific time period, tap Time and select a start and end time.
  7. Configure how the preference will repeat.
    • If you don’t want the preference to automatically repeat, turn off the Repeats toggle.
    • If you want the preference to repeat, make sure the Repeats toggle is enabled.
      • Tap Every to select repeat frequency (Day, Week, or 2 Weeks).
      • If you chose Week or 2 Weeks, tap the days of the week when the preference should apply.
      • Tap Ends to set when the preference should stop repeating (Never or On a date).
  8. (Optional) Add a Note that explains the reason for your preference. This note will be visible to you and your employer.
  9. In the top-right corner of the screen, tap Save.

Editing an availability preference

  1. From the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, tap More icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap Availability.
  3. Use the calendar to select a date.Availability calendarTo switch to the next month, tap Next month or swipe from right to left.
    • To switch to the previous month, tap Previous month or swipe from left to right.
    • To return to today, tap Today in the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. In the list below the calendar, tap the preference that you want to update.
  5. Make the necessary changes.Edit availability
  6. When you’re finished, tap Save in the top-right corner of the screen.
    If the preference repeats, you’re prompted to confirm your choice:

    • To make the change for this day only, tap Update One.
    • To make this change for all repeats, tap Update All.

Deleting an availability preference

  1. From the When I Work Staff Scheduling app, tap More icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap Availability.
  3. Use the calendar to select a date.Availability calendarTo switch to the next month, tap Next month or swipe from right to left.
    • To switch to the previous month, tap Previous month or swipe from left to right.
    • To return to today, tap Today in the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. In the list below the calendar, tap the preference that you want to update.
  5. Near the bottom of the screen, tap Delete Preference.Edit availabilityYou’re prompted to confirm your choice:
    • If the preference doesn’t repeat, tap Delete Preference to confirm.
    • If the preference repeats, you have the option to Delete only this instance (this day) or Delete all instances (all repeats).
Updated on November 21, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket