Setting Your Availability

From your

Applies to , , ,

Overview

Set your availability preferences to let your employer know when you prefer to work and when you prefer not to work. By default, you’re set to be available all day.

You can also set your availability preferences from your iPhone or Android phone.

Things to know before you begin

  • Your availability is a preference that your employer can take into account when building the schedule. There is no guarantee you’ll always get shifts that align with your preferences.
  • You can add, edit, or delete availability preferences that take place in the future but not preferences that take place in the past or on the current day.
  • Your employer has the option to disable the availability feature from App Settings. Only account holders and managers have the ability to edit App Settings.
  • Your availability preferences have icons that help you quickly identify them:
    • Preferred indicates you prefer to work.
    • Unavailable indicates you’re unavailable to work.
    • Repeating preference indicates that the preference repeats.

Before you begin

From your computer, use a supported web browser to sign in to When I Work on the web.

Adding an availability preference

  1. In the top-right corner of the page, hover your pointer over your profile picture, then click My Availability.
  2. Use the calendar to find the day when your preference will begin.Availability screen
  3. Hover your pointer over the date when the preference will begin, then click Add Preference.Add Preference link
  4. Click I’m Unavailable to Work or I Prefer to Work.Add availability preference
  5. Set the hours for the preference.
    • If you want the preference to apply to the entire day, enable the All Day toggle.
    • If you want the preference to apply to a specific time period, set the start and end Time.
  6. Configure how the preference will repeat.
    • If you don’t want the preference to automatically repeat, leave the Repeats toggle turned off.
    • If you want the preference to repeat, turn on the Repeats toggle.
      • Under Every, select repeat frequency (Day, Week, or 2 Weeks).
      • If you chose Week or 2 Weeks, click the days of the week under Repeats On when the preference should apply.
      • Under Ends On, set when the preference should stop repeating. Availability preferences can repeat for up to one year.
  7. (Optional) Add a Note that explains the reason for your preference. This note will be visible to you and your employer.
  8. Click Save.

Editing an availability preference

  1. In the top-right corner of the page, hover your pointer over your profile picture, then click My Availability.
  2. Use the calendar to find the preference that you want to update.Availability screen
  3. Hover your pointer over the preference that you want to update, then click Edit.Editing an availability preference
  4. Make the necessary changes.Edit availability preference
  5. When you’re finished, click Save.
    If the preference repeats, you’re prompted to confirm your choice:

    • To make the change for this day only, click Update One.
    • To make this change for all repeats, click Update All.

Deleting availability preferences

You can delete a single availability preference, a series of repeating availability preferences, or all future availability preferences.

Single preference

Deleting an availability preference allows you to remove a non-repeating preference, a single preference in a series of repeating preferences, or all future repeats of a preference.

  1. In the top-right corner of the page, hover your pointer over your profile picture, then click My Availability.
  2. Use the calendar to find the preference that you want to delete.Availability screen
  3. Hover your pointer over the preference that you want to update, then click Edit.Editing an availability preference
  4. Near the bottom of Edit Preference, click Delete.Edit availability preferenceIf the preference repeats, you’re prompted to confirm your choice:
    • To delete the preference for this day only, click Delete One.
    • To delete all repeats, click Delete All.

All future preferences

Resetting your availability preferences deletes all future preferences set beyond today’s date.

Caution

Only reset your availability preferences if you’re sure you want to delete all future preferences. This cannot be undone.

  1. In the top-right corner of the page, hover your pointer over your profile picture, then click My Availability.
  2. Click Delete in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  3. If you’re sure you want to delete all future availability preferences you’ve set, click Reset Preferences.Reset Your Availability Preferences confirmation
Updated on May 14, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket