Reassigning Shifts

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

You might need to reassign a shift to a different employee if the originally scheduled employee can’t work the shift.

If you’d prefer to offer the shift to other employees so they can volunteer to take it, use the find replacement feature instead.

From day view

If you’re using day view to build the schedule:

Click and drag a shift to move it to a different employee.Drag shift on day view

The shift is not visible to the employee until you publish the schedule and notify employees.

Tip

You can also move the shift to a different time by dragging the shift to the left or right.

From week view (employees)

If you’re using week view with employees view to build the schedule:

Click and drag a shift to move it to a different employee.Drag a shift on week view As you move the shift around, icons appear to let you know whether employees are qualified or have conflicts.

  • Thumbs up icon means the employee is qualified to take the shift (based on position).
  • Thumbs down icon means the employee is not qualified to take the shift (based on position).
  • Ban icon means the employee is already scheduled to work.

The shift is not visible to the employee until you publish the schedule and notify employees.

From week view (positions)

If you’re using week view with positions view to build the schedule:

  1. Hover your pointer over the shift that you want to reassign, then click Pencil button or Edit.
  2. From the Employee menu, select the employee that should work this shift.Employee picker
    • Employees that are qualified to work the shift are listed under Qualified. Employees that are not qualified are listed under Unqualified.
    • Thumbs up icon means the shift falls into hours the employee prefers to work based on availability preferences.
    • U/A means the shift falls into hours the employee prefers not to work based on availability preferences.
    • OT means assigning the shift to the employee would cause the employee to work the indicated number of overtime hours. Overtime is calculated based on the Max Hours / Week set for the employee.
    • OFF means the employee has requested the day off.
  3. Click Save.

The shift is not visible to the employee until you publish the schedule and notify employees.

From month view

If you’re using month view to build the schedule:

  1. Click the shift that you want to assign to a different employee.
  2. From the Employee menu, select the employee that should work this shift.Edit shift
    • Employees that are qualified to work the shift are listed under Qualified. Employees that are not qualified are listed under Unqualified.
    • Thumbs up icon means the shift falls into hours the employee prefers to work based on availability preferences.
    • U/A means the shift falls into hours the employee prefers not to work based on availability preferences.
    • OT means assigning the shift to the employee would cause the employee to work the indicated number of overtime hours. Overtime is calculated based on the Max Hours / Week set for the employee.
    • OFF means the employee has requested the day off.
  3. Click Save.

The shift is not visible to the employee until you publish the schedule and notify employees.

Updated on July 24, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket