Edit or Delete a Position

From your

Applies to ,

Overview

Editing Positions ensures accurate tags are used to associate to Employees and Shifts to a particular duty or skill. Account Holders, and Managers have the ability to create a Position, edit a Position, or delete a Position.

You can also add and modify positions from your computer on Android phone.

Things to know before you begin

  • You must have Account Holder or Manager level access in When I Work.
  • Deleting a Position cannot be undone.
  • This article contains images of the When I Work app on an iPhone. Although the app looks slightly different on an iPad, the app works the same on both devices.

Things to do before you begin

Make sure the When I Work Staff Scheduling app is installed on your iPhone or iPad.

Delete a Position

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, click the More tab at the bottom right of the screen

2) Select Positions from the Toolbox menu

3) This will bring up a screen with a list of all existing Positions in your account. Select the Position you are interested in deleting. For this example, we will delete the Plate Position.

4) Click Edit on the top right of the screen

5) At the bottom of the screen, click Delete Position

6) A confirmation screen will ask you to “Save” the Changes made to this Position. If you do not click Save, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

Edit a position

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, click the More tab at the bottom right of the screen

2) Select Positions from the Toolbox menu

3) This will bring up a screen with a list of all existing Positions in your account. Select the Position you are interested in editing. For this example, we will edit the Coordinator Position.

4) Click Edit on the top right of the screen.

5) Edit the Position Name or edit the Color Code for the Position. On default, Positions have a gray Color Code. Assigning Color Codes make it easier for Account Holder, Managers, and Supervisors while scheduling shifts.

In this example, we edited the Position from “Coordinator” to “Event Coordinator”

6) To Tag additional Employees to this Position, click “Tag Employee…” at the bottom of the screen.

7) All Employees who are not currently tagged to this Position will be brought up in the following screen. From this list, select one employee at a time to Tag to the Position.

8) To Remove an Employee’s tag to this Position, click the x icon to the right of the Employee’s name. In this example, we will delete Steven Gomez tag to this Position.

9) A popup from the bottom of the screen will ask you to confirm removing this employee from the tagged Position.

10) Once you have tagged all the qualified Users to this Position, click “Save” on the top right of the screen.

11) A confirmation screen will ask you to “Save” the Changes made to this Position. If you do not click Save, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

Updated on September 18, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket