Deleting Shifts

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Workforce demands change, and we totally understand! To clean up your schedule, When I Work offers multiple ways to delete shifts!

Things to know before you begin

  • To delete a shift, you must be a supervisor, manager, or account holder.
  • If you are a supervisor, you can only delete shifts for the locations that you belong to.
  • A shift cannot be recovered after it is deleted.

Deleting a single shift

Delete shifts from the Scheduler by hovering over the shift you’d like deleted.

Click the box with the three dots.

Select Delete.

Or you can click the Delete button at the bottom left while editing a shift.

After clicking Delete, a window will pop up asking you to confirm. Click Confirm Delete to delete the shift.

If you are deleting a shift that did not occur yet, you will be given the option to notify the associated employee that the shift will be deleted. This is optional. If you’d like to do this, check the box to the left of “Notify [employee name] and include message on delete.” You can also include a message if you’d like. If you would not like your employee to receive an alert, skip this step.

Click Confirm Delete when done.

Note: The app will let you know if your employees have text messaging set up or not. If not, they will not receive a text about it but should receive an email.

Deleting the schedule for a week

To delete the schedule for an entire week, make sure you are on the week you’d like cleared. Click the Tools icon in the right corner of the Scheduler. From the drop down, click Clear Schedule.

NOTE: When using the Clear Schedule feature, When I Work will clear any shift that starts in the current view. However, we will not clear shifts that only ends in the current view.

For example, if you are viewing Sunday-Saturday and there was a shift that started last Saturday and overlapped to this Sunday (but you can’t see the start time) we will not clear that shift.

However, if there’s a shift that starts this Saturday and overlaps to the next week on Sunday, it WILL clear that shift because you can see the start of the shift.

Deleting the schedule for a day

You can also clear the schedule for just a specific day by clicking on a Day header.

Then go to the Tools icon at the top right and select Clear Schedule.

If you clear shifts for the day or week and there’s a shift that overlaps to the next day or week, it won’t remove that shift.

Deleting an employee’s shifts for a week

When you delete an employee’s shifts for a particular week, his or her shifts for other weeks are not affected.

  1. From the Scheduler, click Week to select week view.
  2. Use the calendar and arrows to navigate to the week that contains the shifts you want to delete.
  3. Next to the employee’s name, click the downward arrow, then select Delete [name]’s Shifts.

    A confirmation message appears.
  4. Click OKAY to confirm that you want to delete the employee’s shifts.

Deleting an employee’s shifts for a day

When you delete an employee’s shifts for a particular day, his or her shifts for other days are not affected.

  1. From the Scheduler, click Day to select day view.
  2. Use the calendar and arrows to navigate to the day that contains the shifts you want to delete.
  3. Next to the employee’s name, click the downward arrow, then select Delete [name]’s Shifts.

    A confirmation message appears.
  4. Click OKAY to confirm that you want to delete the employee’s shifts.
Updated on April 13, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket