Using Annotations

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Use annotations to send your staff important information about a particular day. You can send a general announcement, let your staff know that time off isn’t allowed, or let your staff know that your business will be closed that day.

You can also use annotations from your computer or Android phone.

Types of annotations

Each annotation has one or more types that determine how the annotation is displayed to your employees. An annotation can have one, two, or all three types.

TypeBusiness Closed
DescriptionPosts a message to the Schedule view that indicates your business is closed on the selected days.
TypeDon’t Allow Time Off
DescriptionPosts a message to the Schedule view1 that indicates time time off isn’t allowed on the selected days, and prevents staff from submitting time off requests. Supervisors and managers can still submit time off requests for those days for themselves and on behalf of employees.
TypeAnnouncement
DescriptionPosts a message to the Schedule view and dashboard2 that applies to the selected days.
Type Description
Business Closed Posts a message to the Schedule view that indicates your business is closed on the selected days.
Don’t Allow Time Off Posts a message to the Schedule view1 that indicates time time off isn’t allowed on the selected days, and prevents staff from submitting time off requests. Supervisors and managers can still submit time off requests for those days for themselves and on behalf of employees.
Announcement Posts a message to the Schedule view and dashboard2 that applies to the selected days.

1 When I Work web app and When I Work Scheduling app for Android only
2 Mobile apps only

Things to know before you begin

  • You must have account holder, manager, or supervisors access privileges to add annotations. If you’re a supervisor, you can add annotations for your locations only.
  • Annotations are available for accounts that have When I Work Scheduling activated on current pricing plans that support more than 10 users. Work with your account holder to upgrade on the Account & Billing page.
  • Only one annotation can appear at a time in the “Important Upcoming Date” section of My Schedule. The exception is if there are annotations on the same day within different locations.
  • Employees cannot click URLs that you enter in the annotation message. However, they can manually type the URL into a web browser.

Things to do before you begin

Make sure the When I Work Employee Scheduling app is installed on your iPhone or iPad.

Add an annotation

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, click the More tab at the bottom right of the screen

2) Select Add an Annotation from the Toolbox menu

3) This will bring up a form for you to enter the start/ end date for this Annotation.

Click Date to indicate the start date of this Annotation. A pop up will appear at the bottom of the screen.

Click To Date to indicate the end date of this Annotation. A pop up will appear at the bottom of the screen.

4) Enter a Title and Message for this Annotation.

5) Toggle whether your Annotation is an Announcement, Business Closed, or No Time Off.

Unless you turn on “No Time Off,” your employees will still be able to request time off for days your business is closed.

6) Is this Annotation only for specific Locations? Click “Add Location” on the bottom left of the screen. A pop up will appear with all Locations in your Account. Select one-by-one the different Locations you want to share your Annotation with.

If you need to remove a Location from this Annotation, click the x icon to the right of the Location’s name.

7) Tag this Annotation to as many Locations as you need. When you are ready, click Save on the top right of the screen.

8) A confirmation screen will ask you to “Save” the Changes made to this new Annotation. If you do not click Save, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

9) Your Annotation is complete! It is viewable under “My Schedule.”

Edit an annotation

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, scroll down on the Dashboard to find the Annotation in need of editing.

2) Click Edit on the top right of the screen

3) This will bring up a form for you to edit the Annotation. You can edit the start/ end date, title, message, tagged Locations, as well as the type of Annotation from this form.

In this example, we will edit the End Date of this Annotation to the 19th.

4) Click To Date to indicate the end date of this Annotation. A pop up will appear at the bottom of the screen.

5) When you are ready, click Save on the top right of the screen.

6) Your Annotation is complete! It is viewable under “My Schedule.”

Delete an annotation

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, scroll down on the Dashboard to find the Annotation in need of editing.

2) Click Edit on the top right of the screen

3) On the bottom right of the screen, click Delete

4) A confirmation screen will pop up and ask you to click “Delete” again. If you do not click Delete, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

NOTE: Deleting an Annotation cannot be undone.

Updated on April 13, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket