Viewing Employee Availability

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Employees’ availability preferences let you know when they’re available when assigning shifts so that you can schedule accordingly. Having this visibility can help you avoid scheduling employees at a time when they have a conflict or prior engagement.

Things to know before you begin

  • You must have supervisor, manager, or account holder access privileges to view employees’ availability.
  • Managers and account holders have the option to turn on/off the My Availability from App Settings. If you do not see employees’ availability, please contact your account holder or manager to activate this feature.
  • Account Holders, Managers, and Supervisors have the right to schedule employees for any time they feel is necessary for the business’ needs.
  • This article contains images of the When I Work app on an iPhone. Although the app looks slightly different on an iPad, the app works the same on both devices.

Viewing employee availability

Remember that set availability is just a preference which can be overridden. Managers retain the right to schedule employees whenever needed.When you are creating a shift, choose the employee you would like to work that shift. The app will give you a list of qualified and available employees to choose from.

If there is a yellow icon (!) to the right of an employee’s name, the shift time you are scheduling for conflicts with that employee’s set availability preferences.

If there is a green thumbs up icon after an employee’s name, the employee prefers to work the shift time you have setup.

To view the conflict, tap on a name with the yellow (!) icon.

An alert will pop up indicating the conflict, and you can choose whether you’d like to override their preference and schedule them or cancel to choose another employee.

Updated on September 19, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket