1. Home
  2. Tracking Employee Time
  3. Troubleshooting Time Clocks
  4. Troubleshooting a Fixed Terminal on a Tablet or Phone

Troubleshooting a Fixed Terminal on a Tablet or Phone

From your , ,

Applies to , ,

Overview

If your employees are having trouble clocking in from a fixed time clock terminal on an iPad, iPhone, Android phone, or Android tablet, follow the steps in this article to troubleshoot and resolve the issue.

Things to know before you begin

You must have manager or account holder access privileges to perform some troubleshooting steps in this article. If you have employee or supervisor level access, you’ll have to ask for help when you get to those steps.

A network error message appears

A fixed terminal displays a network error message if it’s unable to connect to When I Work over the Internet. If your fixed terminal is unable to connect, it might display one of these error messages:

  • “The Internet connection appears to be offline.”
  • “Network Error”
  • “Cannot connect to the Internet. Please check your connection and try again.”

Network errors

Solution: Make sure the device is connected to Wi-Fi network or cellular data network.

A missing user message appears

A fixed terminal displays a missing user message if the supervisor, manager, or account holder that originally authorized the fixed terminal has been demoted to employee-level access privileges. When this occurs, the fixed terminal displays one of these messages:

  • “User ID does not exist.”
  • “The user you are looking for is not here.”

Missing user error

Solutions:

  • Reauthorize the fixed terminal as a different supervisor, manager, or account holder.
  • If the user that originally authorized the fixed terminal was demoted by accident, restore the user’s original access privileges. You must have manager or account holder access privileges to make this change.

A user login required message appears

A fixed terminal displays a “User login required for this resource” message if the supervisor, manager, or account holder that originally authorized the fixed terminal has been deleted from the account.

User login required for this resource

Solutions:

  • Reauthorize the fixed terminal as a different supervisor, manager, or account holder.
  • If the user that originally authorized the fixed terminal was deleted by accident, reactivate the deleted user. You must have manager or account holder access privileges to reactivate any user. If you’re a supervisor, you can reactivate employees that belong to your schedules.
Updated on November 15, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket