Scheduling with Shift Templates

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Use shift templates to quickly add standard shifts to the schedule.

Shift templates (formerly called shift blocks) save you time when you need to schedule shifts that have a consistent start and end time. Instead of manually entering in custom shifts details one-by-one, shift templates allow you to schedule a shift quickly and easily.

You can also use shift templates to schedule shifts from your computer or iPhone/iPad.

Things to know before you begin

You must have supervisor, manager, or account holder access privileges in When I Work to add shifts to the schedule.

Things to do before you begin

Use a shift template to schedule a shift

  1. Open the When I Work Scheduling app.

  2. In the top-left corner of the screen, tap Menu button, then tap Schedule.
  3. Tap the Schedule tab. If you want to view your existing shift coverage, tap the date range to jump to a week, then scroll down to the day.Schedule tab
  4. Tap Plus button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  5. Tap the shift template that you want to use.Select shift template
  6. Under Time, set the start and end dates for the shift. If necessary, adjust the start and end time.Shift date and time
  7. If you have multiple locations, select the Location where the shift will take place.Shift location and employee
  8. Select Who will work the shift.Qualified employees
    • If you added a position to the shift, employees who can work that position are listed on the Qualified tab. If you need to assign the shift to an unqualified employee, tap the All Employees tab.
    • To let any qualified employee take this shift, select Open Shift. For more information, see OpenShifts.
    • To assign the shift to a specific employee, select that employee.
  9. Make any additional adjustments to the shift that are needed.
  10. When you’re finished, tap Checkmark button in the top-right corner of the screen to save.
    A confirmation prompt appears. Save shift confirmation

    • If you want to save the shift without making it visible to the employee, tap Save (unpublish).
    • If you want to make the shift visible and notify the assigned employee based on their alert preferences, tap Save & Publish.
Updated on September 18, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket