1. Home
  2. Scheduling Your Team
  3. Publishing the Schedule
  4. Publishing & Notifying Staff About the Schedule

Publishing & Notifying Staff About the Schedule

From your

Applies to , ,

Overview

Publishing the Schedule allows employees to see shifts assigned to them personally from the app(s). In addition, Publishing the Schedule provides employees visibility to OpenShifts that they are qualified and available to take.

Notifying Staff about the Schedule allows When I Work to send Email and/or Mobile Alerts to Users.

  • Notifications can be sent for published shifts only.
  • You can publish the schedule without notifying staff.

You can also publish & notify the Schedule from your computer or Android phone.

Things to know before you begin

  • You must have Account Holder, Manager, or Supervisor level access in When I Work.
  • Only employees with scheduled shifts and appropriate Alert Preferences will receive Email and/or Mobile alerts.
  • This article contains images of the When I Work app on an iPhone. Although the app looks slightly different on an iPad, the app works the same on both devices.

Things to do before you begin

Make sure the When I Work Employee Scheduling app is installed on your iPhone or iPad.

Publish & notify staff about the schedule

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, click the More tab at the bottom right of the screen

2) Select Publish & Notify from the Toolbox menu

3) On default, the app will bring up the option to Publish & Notify the Schedule to help you save time. However, you can toggle between Publish, Publish & Notify, and Un-Publish at the bottom of the screen.

4) If you are Publishing & Notifying, the app will bring up an editable form where you can:

  • Publish the Entire Schedule (All Employees and All Positions at a specific Location)
  • Publish the Schedule for select Employee(s) at a specific Location
  • Publish the Schedule for select Position(s) at a specific Location
  • Define the specific dates you want to Publish (up to one week)
  • Enter a (email only) Message for the Employee(s)

5) Once you have completed the form, click “Send” at the top right corner of the screen.

6) A confirmation screen will ask you to confirm your decision to “Publish & Notify” the shifts that meet your parameters. If you do not click Publish & Notify, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

7) Once a schedule has been published, any adjustments you make will not be visible to your employees until you Publish & Notify again.

Publish the Schedule

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, click the More tab at the bottom right of the screen

2) Select Publish & Notify from the Toolbox menu

3) On default, the app will bring up the option to Publish & Notify the Schedule to help you save time. However, you can toggle between Publish, Publish & Notify, and Un-Publish at the bottom of the screen.

4) If you are Publishing, the app will bring up an editable form where you can:

  • Publish the Entire Schedule (All Employees and All Positions at a specific Location)
  • Publish the Schedule for select Employee(s) at a specific Location
  • Publish the Schedule for select Position(s) at a specific Location
  • Define the specific dates you want to Publish (up to one week)

5) Once you have completed the form, click “Publish” at the top right corner of the screen.

6) A confirmation screen will ask you to confirm your decision to “Publish” the shifts that meet your parameters. If you do not click Publish, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

7) Once a schedule has been published, any adjustments you make will not be visible to your employees until you Publish or Publish & Notify again.

Unpublish the schedule

1) From the iPhone/iPad app, click the More tab at the bottom right of the screen

2) Select Publish & Notify from the Toolbox menu

3) On default, the app will bring up the option to Publish & Notify the Schedule to help you save time. However, you can toggle between Publish, Publish & Notify, and Un-Publish at the bottom of the screen.

4) If you are Un-Publishing the Schedule, the app will bring up an editable form where you can:

  • Define whether you want to Un-Publish the Entire Schedule (All Employees and All Positions at a specific Location)
  • Un-Publish the Schedule for select Employee(s) at a specific Location
  • Un-Publish the Schedule for select Position(s) at a specific Location
  • Define the specific dates you want to Un-Publish (up to one week)

6) Once you have completed the Un-Publish Schedule Parameters, click “Un-Publish” at the top right corner of the screen

7) A confirmation screen will ask you to confirm your decision to “Un-Publish” the shifts that meet your parameters. If you do not click Un-Publish, your options will not be stored and you will need to start over.

Updated on June 19, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket