1. Home
  2. Tracking Employee Time
  3. Managing Attendance Settings
  4. Adjusting When Clock In/Out Reminders Are Sent

Adjusting When Clock In/Out Reminders Are Sent

From your

Applies to

Overview

In When I Work, reminders are sent if an employee forgets to clock in or out for a shift. Adjust how soon after an employee forgets to clock in/out for a reminder to send to best fit your needs. For example, you might want to immediately remind employees after they forget to clock in/out and remind management 15 minutes after.

How reminders work

Clock in/out reminders are sent to both employees and management:

  • An employee is reminded to clock in/out for their shift if they forget.
  • Supervisors, managers, and the account holder are alerted when an employee forgets to clock in/out so they can remind the employee to clock in/out or clock in/out on the employee’s behalf.

Things to know before you begin

  • App settings control when clock in/out reminders are sent, while individual users’ need to have Clock In/Out Reminders enabled in their alert preferences to receive the reminders.
  • Supervisors, managers, and the account holder receive clock in/out reminders for employees tagged to the same schedules.
  • Only the account holder can change app settings that determine when clock in/out reminders are sent.

Steps

  1. Go to App Settings.
  2. From the menu on the left side of the screen, click Attendance.Attendance settings
  3. Scroll down to the Notifications section to choose how long When I Work should wait to send the notifications. Notifications can be sent Immediately1 minute after3 minutes after5 minutes after15 minutes after, or 30 minutes after an employee forgets to clock in or out.Clock in and out reminders
    • Notify Managers When Employees Miss Clock In/Out: Supervisors, managers, and account holders are notified when their employees fail to clock in or out.
    • Notify Employees When They Miss Clock In/Out: Employees are notified when they fail to clock in or out.
  4. When you’re finished, click Save in the top-right corner of the screen.
Updated on June 18, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?

Open a ticket with our customer care team.

Submit a Ticket